Committee to Protect Journalists Names Trump Top Press Oppressor

Committee to Protect Journalists.

The organization made the announcement in response to Trump’s “Fake News” awards.

“Amid the public discourse of fake news and President Trump’s announcement via Twitter about his planned ‘fake news’ awards ceremony, CPJ is recognizing world leaders who have gone out of their way to attack the press and undermine the norms that support freedom of the media,” reads a statement on its website.

Trump at the beginning of the year tweeted he would be giving out awards for the “most dishonest & corrupt media” of the year Jan. 8., but recently changed the date to Jan. 17.

Turkey President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan was named the winner of the “Most Thin-Skinned” leader and, for “Most Outrageous Use of Terror Laws Against the Press.”

China’s Xi Jinping was picked for having the “Tightest Grip on the Media,” and State Counselor and de facto leader Aung San Suu Kyi of Myanmar for being the “Biggest Backslider in Press Freedom.”

Of Trump, the CPJ wrote: “While previous U.S. presidents have each criticized the press to some degree, they have also made public commitments to uphold its essential role in democracy, at home and abroad.”

“Trump, by contrast, has consistently undermined domestic news outlets and declined to publicly raise freedom of the press with repressive leaders such as Xi [Jinping], [Recep Tayyip] Erdoğan, and [Abdel Fattah el-] Sisi.”