Seven Republican governors sent a letter to the Norwegian Nobel Committee urging the group to consider President Donald Trump for the Nobel Peace Prize.

“We, the undersigned governors of the United States of America, support the nomination of President Donald J. Trump, by members of the United States Congress, to receive the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize for his transformative efforts to bring peace to the Korean peninsula after more than 60 years of conflict and division,” the governors wrote in the letter.

“After nearly two decades of gridlock and global anxiety surrounding North Korea’s nuclear program, we are now, at last, on the precipice of peace. There is but one new variable: President Donald J. Trump and his successful policy of peace through strength. There is no one more deserving of the Nobel Peace Prize,” the governors wrote.

The governors who signed the letter are Henry McMaster of South Carolina, Kay Ivey of Alabama, Jeff Colyer of Kansas, Paul R. LePage of Maine, Phil Bryant of Mississippi, Jim Justice of West Virginia, and Eddie Baza Calvo of the U.S. territory of Guam.

On May 2, a group of Republicans in the House of Representatives also sent a letter to the Nobel committee in support for Trump. Rep. Luke Messer, R-Ind., made the suggestion, and 18 Republicans signed the letter.

Excellent content provided by